top of page

Johnny and the Mongrels

Johnny & The Mongrels is a Colorado/Louisiana-based project that draws upon a variety of musical influences, whose sound has been described as "Swamp Funk & Bayou Soul."

Johnny & The Mongrels' debut album, “Creole Skies,” co-produced by music industry veteran Joe Michaels (Ivan Neville, Chris Jacobs, Shaun Murphy, Bonerama, Charlie Wooten) & Guitarist Scott Sharrard (Greg Allman Band) was released in July 2020 with exceptional reviews; - “Mongrels music” is highly influenced by the grooves and feel of New Orleans, but the songs tell stories as well, as they are sung and played from the heart, giving them a depth and authenticity all their own.

- "Johnny & The Mongrels make their presence felt profoundly on Creole Skies. Its strengths are manifold, its music meaningful and built to last, and Ryan as the messenger will not be denied. Creole Skies is operating on a whole different level, at once familiar, fresh and true to the human experience. When they sing and play, and it all comes together, you believe them. What a beautiful thing.” -David McGee, DEEP ROOTS.

The record features a heavy-hitting lineup of veteran rock and R&B musicians, including guitarist Sharrard, keyboardist Bill McKay (Derek Trucks Band, Leftover Salmon), drummer Eddie Christmas (New Orleans Suspects, Jon Cleary, The Black Crowes), along with guest musicians Roddie Romero, Charlie Wooton and Lee Allen Zeno. The album was recorded at the famous Dockside Studio in Maurice, Louisiana, home to eight Grammy-winning albums.

The band has received many accolades including:

• 5 Independent Blues Awards Nominations 2021.

• Nominated in 6 categories & accepted by the Recording Academy’s 1st voting ballot for consideration for the 63rd Grammy Awards.

• 2019’s Mile High Blues Society's International Blues Challenge Champion.

Having played prominent venues and music festivals nationwide since 2015, Johnny & The Mongrels have shared the stage with national touring artists: Scott Sharrard (Greg Allman), George Porter Jr (Meters), Ivan Neville (Dumpstaphunk), Bob Malone (John Fogerty), Roddie Romero, Shakedown Street, Samantha Fish, Honey Island Swamp Band and Marc Broussard to mention a few.  

bottom of page